Moments: I’ve Got Your Back

Olan Rogers

I wanted to believe that you can still think like a kid. I have to believe that way of thinking can still exist – I have to believe it! Even if it’s foolish and naive you can still do things because they just sound like fun! You know? That has to still exist out there! The years of pillow fights, box forts and tree houses – THAT HAS TO EXIST!     – Olan Rogers

About a month ago, Nicole offered me a ticket to Olan Rogers’ screening with her at the Toronto Buffer Festival – obviously I excitedly accepted! She ‘introduced’ me to Olan and his Ghost in the Stalls video quite some time ago  – we regularly watch his videos, quote him and laugh at his shenanigans – he’s a pretty hilarious guy! (He also has an amazing and incredibly contagious laugh – seriously you need to hear it!)

When we arrived at the TIFF Lightbox in Toronto, we snapped some pictures with the Buffer Festival signage and checked in on Facebook then tried to sit patiently while we waited for the screening. Once seated (we had pretty great seats) the excitement just continued to build. Finally when we he came out on stage, it took some effort to control my inner fangirl. I was an admirer but not a super fan (yet) at this point but I was boiling over with excited curiosity to see what he had in store for us. Based on his previous videos I was expecting some good laughs and hilarious stories and he didn’t disappoint. We got to see some unreleased Rollin with Olans, his epic Star Wars tribute, and a side-aching-tears-of-laughter Outtake Video that I hope he eventually posts on his YouTube page because it was pretty fantastic!
FUN FACT: Olan is an incredible dancer – he even did a little jig on stage for us at the screening!

What I wasn’t expecting … the Eat A Slice With Me Documentary. I was expecting the laughter, but I was not expecting the overwhelming emotion in this video. I was not expecting to CRY.  Olan’s honesty and humbleness are so real – HIS PASSION is so inspiring. And this video brought me to tears for so many reasons. But I wasn’t the only one … the entire audience was touched by the video, emotionally affected by Olan’s inspiring journey and humble story. The result was a standing ovation. Much deserved but it brought him to tears and I’m glad he did. A person as warm hearted as that needs to know that he is loved.

When the Documentary was over … I was a super fan. I’d jumped from admirer to fangirl in a matter of seconds. The screening was over, I grabbed my coat, composed myself and realized I STILL GET TO MEET HIM! I instantly went into panic-mode – what do I say? how do I act? will I spaz out? I was full-blown fangirling at this point and it was embarrassing. Thankfully Nicole was too so she didn’t mind. (check out her amazing encounter with Olan). At the meet and greet – after Nicole got her incredible olan-bear-hug, I realized I was next in line. I still had no idea what to say, my legs were shaking, my voice unsteady, and thoughts scattered. I went up to him and just spoke from the heart; I said “Thank you, for your inspiring words and for everything that you do. I came here today expecting to laugh, and although I wasn’t expecting to cry, I really enjoyed the documentary.” He thanked me, we hugged, got our picture, I got him to sign my ticket and I went on my way.

I know this story doesn’t sound that epic – but there are some people that come into your life, even for just a few minutes, and the impact they leave is astounding! I believe Olan is one of those people for me because since that day I’ve watched the Documentary about 10 more times, shared it on Facebook, showed it to family, and showed it to a friend who was really in need of some encouraging inspiration.

You don’t see pure honesty in many people anymore, we’re all guarded, afraid to be hurt, afraid to make a mistake, trying desperately to fit in. I think that’s why Olan’s personality was so refreshing. He is unapologetically true to himself and it is AMAZING.

Thank you again, Olan, for everything you do.

Until next time!
xoxox

I hope those of you who are feeling discouraged right now know that you can do anything you put your mind to…you can do it! But you have to want it! It may take years – you might ask yourself “What if I don’t get there?” … There will be people who say “You can’t make a living out of this – you can’t make a living out of something that you love to do.”
But are you really living by NOT doing it? You’re never too young, you’re never too old to start. I’m not going to let anybody tell me what I can’t do – and neither should you.     – Olan Rogers

Leave a comment